Fans seem to think last weekend’s US Open should have gone to a tiebreaker after a potential missed penalty against Wyndham Clark.
Clark won his first major on Sunday at -10, beating Rory McIlroy by one stroke, but tournament viewers say Clark should have received a penalty.
During a chip on the green, in almost grainy video, Clark is seen hitting a club that may or may not have caused the ball to move.
CLICK HERE FOR MORE SPORTS COVERAGE ON FOXNEWS.COM
Reactions on social media were quite mixed. Sports stool by Daniel Rapaport he said the ball «doesn’t move enough for a penalty» and that the ball «wobbles maybe».
However, Rule 9.4 states that if a ball moves at rest, it would be penalized by one stroke.
If a penalty were given, assuming nothing else changed, Clark and McIlroy would have been 9 under par on 72 holes.
PAIGE SPIRANAC ON WYNDHAM CLARK’S US OPEN WIN: ‘WE ALL KNEW HE WOULD MAKE IT’
The tiebreaker at the US Open is now an aggregate of two holes after being another full round of 18 on Monday. Who could forget Tiger Woods vs. Rocco Mediate, the last US Open tiebreaker, in 2008? The new format was formed in 2018.
CLICK HERE TO GET THE FOX NEWS APP
The victory was Clark’s second as a professional. McIlroy is still waiting for his first major win in nine years after winning four from 2011 to 2014. Other than this year’s Masters, where he missed the cut, he finished at least eighth or better in majors since 2022, and this weekend it was his third. in the top three and fourth in the top five since then.